Can You Help Me Track Down My Guy?

“My guy’s mad at me,” sang Tracey Ullman in her gender-swapped version of the classic 1979 hit “My Girl” by Madness. I’m guessing, however, that no matter how mad Tracey’s guy was at her, I’m even madder at My Guy.

myguy sThat’s My Guy the magazine, of course. But why am I mad at it, I pretend that I hear you ask? Because I’ve been unable to verify how many issues of My Guy were published, or how long it lasted. Over the past few years I’ve trawled through dozens of on-line comics encyclopaedias, book-stores, databases and what-have-you, and I’m still not sure. Some of these sources supply contradictory information. Others are just sparse. Many of them don’t mention My Guy at all, possibly because it was closer to a magazine than a comic.

Ah, but if My Guy was a magazine, what’s it doing on this here comics blog, eh? Why, Unky Rusty, are you even bothering with it?

Because, imaginary disembodied voice in my head who somehow always sounds like Hugo Weaving, in 1990 My Guy absorbed the 1980s incarnation of Girl, and that one definitely was a comic.

And also, My Guy contained photo-stories and they do count as comic-strip material. Not to mention that many of the other publications I’ve covered are story-papers: if they count as comics, so does My Guy.

myguy&girl sA brief digression that serves to illustrate how frustrating it can be to research this stuff: The merger of My Guy and Girl is not mentioned on-line anywhere — at last, nowhere I could find — and in fact I didn’t even know about that merger until a few weeks ago when I stumbled across the cover on the right. At first I thought that maybe it had absorbed an entirely different title called Girl because the “Girl” part of the logo was unfamiliar to me, but a little more research showed that in its later years the Girl comic did indeed sport that logo on the cover.

(Nested digression: Searching on-line for a comic called “Girl” is a lot harder than it should be. “Girl comic uk” was the first search-string on Google I used… Lots of images of the 1950s Girl showed up, plus many other titles, but the one we’re looking for? Nothing, even though it was in print for almost a decade.)

So how does a long-running and well-known publication like My Guy manage to garner such a sparse presence on-line? It could be that there aren’t any serious My Guy collectors out there, or at least none who’ve felt the urge to put its details on-line. Collectors of old magazines do actually exist (I use some of their sites to verify certain info for this blog), but they mostly focus on mags for adults. And there’s a plethora of sites dedicated to “proper” comics. But publications aimed at teens seem to have fallen through the cracks.

To undigress… Sometime around March 1995 My Guy and its companion reprint title My Guy Monthly were apparently sold by IPC Magazines to Frank Hopkinson, the then-current group editor of those titles. Mr Hopkinson intended to “publish the magazines in his own right.” In 2006 he published My Guy: The Best of the Photostories, the paperback version of which was subtitled “Your favourite photostories from 1978 to 1999!” which is a pretty strong clue that the mag lasted beyond 1995, but not actual evidence (I haven’t actually got a copy of the book yet!). The only other clues I’ve been able to find are along the lines of this mention on Magforum: “in 1998, 11 titles sold 2,441,163 copies a month (Smash Hits, Just 17, Looks, Jackie, Mizz, Company, 19, Number One, Girl, Blue Jeans and My Guy).” Again, that’s not actually evidence.

Unfortunately, that’s as far as I’ve managed to travel down that road. Attempts to contact Mr Hopkinson for clarification have yet to bear fruit.

Deep, protracted sigh.

Y’know, beloved reader, if someone had told me when I started all this that it’d be easier to verify info on, say, Cartwright’s Lady’s Companion magazine from 1892 than on a popular teen magazine that lasted long enough to acquire an e-mail address, I would have scoffed mightily and then laughed in their face. But they would have been right. Luckily, no one did tell me that and so my honour was spared.

Here’s a brief history of the magazine in the hope that it might spark some memories…

myguy sMarch 1978

My Guy is launched. It’s glossy, has forty pages, costs 14p in the UK, and come with a free Heart-to-Heart Bangle. It also has “Real love stories in photos” and a feature that promises 101 ways to acquire a boyfriend, thus setting the scene for the next 800+ issues.

 

 

 

my guy & heartbeat #211 29 May 1982 sMay 1982

My Guy absorbs short-lived stable-mate magazine Heartbeat (launched 3 Oct 1981, lasted 28 issues).

 

 

 

 

 

myguymonthly sApril 1984

My Guy Monthly is launched, reprinting the “The Best from Britain’s Best Photo Story Mag.”

 

 

 

 

 

my guy & oh boy 26 Jan 1985 s

January 1985

Absorbs Oh Boy (launched 12 October 1976, lasted 428 issues), another teen girls’ magazine, this one with a stronger emphasis on pop music.

 

 

 

 

 

My Guy & Girl #651 29 Nov 1990 s March 1990

My Guy absorbs the comic Girl (launched 14 January 1981, lasted 478 issues).

 

 

 

 

 

 

my guy #820 12 Mar 1994 s12 March 1994

#820, the most recent issue I’ve been able to pin down. As you can see, by now My Guy has given itself another makeover: the giant “MG” logo dwarfing the original title. This happened sometime between late March 1992 and early June 1992. A heavy revamp like this, where the magazine’s original identity is almost obliterated, is a strong indicator that sales have not been great.

 

 

 

Given that it lasted at least sixteen years — and possibly as long as twenty-two — My Guy was an important and influential publication, so it’s a shame that there’s so little solid information about it. If anyone out there can supply me with solid proof of My Guy‘s extended life beyond March 1995 (cover scans are a good start!) I would be massively grateful.

And if you believe that I’m wasting my time with all this stuff, well, let me tell you, nothing you could say could tear me away from My Guy (my guy).

(Sorry, couldn’t help myself!)

 

15 thoughts on “Can You Help Me Track Down My Guy?

  1. I’m guessing the end date was Sept 1995 or October 1998 from the British Library record at http://explore.bl.uk/
    Do ADVANCED SEARCH > “My Guy” (with the speech marks to restrict to a phrase) > Click on each individual record and DETAILS (and Holdings if there). What a fascinating trail that magazine had!! I’ve never read one!

    MY GUY: no.1-204 (4 March 1978-10 April 1982)
    MY GUY & HEARTBEAT: no. 205-257 (17 April 1982-16 April 1983)
    MY GUY: no.258-729 (23 April 1983-28 May 1992)
    MY GUY MAGAZINE: no.730, etc. (6 June 1992-Sept.1995)
    ——
    MG: My Guy Monthly: (July 1995)-(Oct. 1998)
    and
    MY GUY MONTHLY: No. 5 (Sep. 1984)-Aug. 1993
    which confuses me further!!!

    Good luck!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Norman – some very useful info there!
      The record on “MG : my guy monthly. / Surbiton : [s.n.], 1995-2000.” is strong enough evidence for me that Frank Hopkinson’s version of the mag lasted until March/April 2000, so that’s exactly what I was looking for!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Nice shot of Bill Maylin aka Eagle’s Sgt Streetwise on the cover of the May ‘82 issue. Clearly working double shifts for IPC. Did the new Eagle share photographers with MG too, I wonder?

      Like

    3. Hi, I am also late to the party ! I modelled for my guy in 1993 for the stories along side Martino Lazzeri ( Grange Hill, hollyoakes, eastenders)
      Number 788. & 789,
      Number 809 which also featured Declan Donnelly!
      It was nice to dig them out of storage and take a trip down memory lane!

      Like

    1. Excellent find, Lorrbot – thank you! (And it’s a nice coincidence that Tracey Ullman was one of the future stars who actually appeared in the mag – I didn’t know that when I wrote the article!)

      Like

  2. I’m also trying to track down alot of these mags and also the comics Jinty & Tammy. My bio father was a both a model and an artist. I have a few but so hard to track down. Anything helps. His name was Bob.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lauryn, copies of My Guy, Jinty and Tammy regularly appear on auction sites like Ebay, although specific issues can be tricky to pin down (it doesn’t help that neither Jinty nor Tammy used issue numbers!). Equally annoying is that artists and writers (and models!) were never credited in the comics so there’s no easy way to find out who did what.

      Like

  3. Excuse the late comment, but just found this blog. I was actually in several My Guy photo stories in the early 1990s, and still have a few copies.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Andy,
      Any chance you could tell us which issues you appeared in (the issue-number and the cover-date), and the names of the stories? As far as I know there’s no on-line resource for that sort of thing, so maybe we can start one here!

      Like

  4. Hi Michael.
    Yes , I will have a look for them. I am fairly sure I am in one pictured above with Scott Michaelson on the cover! It was an era with a lot of Aussie soap stars!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve been trying to find 2 issues of My Guy for years. I was a photo story model in first and second eps of the long running ‘Clare’ story line. I ‘think’ it was around ’82 or ’83. If anyone has any clues as to the date the story started, I would be forever grateful!

    Like

    1. Hi Janette,
      I’ll definitely keep an eye out for it! Unfortunately I don’t know of any on-line list of stories that appeared My Guy… You could search for “My Guy magazine” on Ebay and see if any of the covers ring a bell (wild guess: the cover of your issues featured hugging each other closely while staring out at the camera).
      Best of luck with your search — if you do find it, please let me know!
      Mike

      Like

Leave a comment